Warning: Parameter 3 to plgContentArticleeditor::onBeforeDisplayContent() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/hydrobio/public_html/libraries/joomla/event/event.php on line 67

Harpacticoida (Copepoda) new catalogue from prof. A. Apostolov


The present catalog in an attempt for drafting a full systematic list of all Harpacticoida species determined in Bulgaria, on the basis of literary sources and personal research. The catalog contains all marine species and species found in coastal lakes, estuaries as well as in fresh water and groundwater in Bulgaria.

A list of 289 species of copepods harpacticoids from the fauna of Bulgaria is presented, assigned to 36 families, 98 genera and 8 sub-genera. Thirteen genera are new to the Black Sea and the fauna of Bulgaria: Sarsamphiascus Huys, 2009; Monardius Huys, 2009; Glabrotelson Huys, 2009; Emertonia Wilson, 1932; Pilocamptus Huys, 2009; Karllangia Noodt, 1964; Ambunguipes Huys, 1990; Filexilia Conroy-Dalton et Huys, 1996; Aigondiceps Fiers, 1995; Schizothrix Huys, 1992; Pesceus Özdikmen 2008, Vermicaris Kornev & Chertoprud, 2008 et Proserpinicaris Jakobi, 1972.

In the present catalogue a new subspecies Hypocamptus brehmi (Douwe,1922) subsp. sterbain. from the Black Sea (Bulgarian coast) is described. The catalog is presented according to the latest changes and adopts the phylogenetic system by Seifried (2003), Wells (2007), and corrections in the nomenclature system by Huys (2009). For each species there is short bibliography, synonymy and distribution in Bulgaria.

Photos of some of the species found in the Black Sea are provided at the end of the catalog (Bulgarian coast).
For additional information or inquiries please contact the author at: e-mail: Е-мейл адресът e защитен от спам ботове.

AJAX Search Users

CB Login

Lybrary stats

The download archive contains currently 255 downloads in 38 categories. To date, these have been downloaded 105756 times.

JoomGallery Treeview

Кой е на линия

В момента има 13 посетителя в сайта
Hydrobiology Society, Bulgaria >>> Copyright: Lyubomir Kenderov, 2008- 2011 ©